

Shropshire Council Legal and Democratic Services Resources Directorate Shirehall Abbey Foregate Shrewsbury SY2 6ND

Committee: Council

Date: Wednesday, 12 May 2021

Date: Thursday, 20 May 2021 Time: 10.00 am Venue: The Auditorium - Theatre Severn, Frankwell Quay, Frankwell, Shrewsbury SY3 8FT

You are requested to attend the above meeting. The Agenda is attached

Members of the Council – a briefing note will be circulated by e-mail prior to the meeting with important housekeeping details and arrangements for the morning.

Members of the Public – there will be some, but very limited access in the Theatre for the public to attend the meeting in order to comply with Covid-19 regulations. If you wish to attend the meeting please contact the Committee Officer Tim Ward (contact details below) to check that a seat will be available for you.

Members of the public will be able to access the live stream of the meeting by clicking on this link:

https://shropshire.gov.uk/council20may2021

Tim Collard Interim Assistant Director – Legal and Democratic Services

Vince Hunt (Speaker) Roy Aldcroft Jeff Anderson Caroline Bagnall Nicholas Bardsley Joyce Barrow **Bernie Bentick** Thomas Biggins Ed Bird Andy Boddington Peter Broomhall Julia Buckley Garry Burchett Gwilym Butler Dean Carroll Steve Charmley

Ted Clarke Gerald Dakin Rosemary Dartnall Steve Davenport Mary Davies Julian Dean Geoff Elner David Evans Julia Evans Roger Evans Paul Gill Rob Gittins Nat Green Kate Halliday Simon Harris Nigel Hartin

Nick Hignett **Ruth Houghton Richard Huffer** Tracey Huffer Kirstie Hurst-Knight Mike Isherwood Mark Jones Simon Jones Duncan Kerr Heather Kidd Christian Lea Hilary Luff Nigel Lumby Elliott Lynch **Robert Macey Richard Marshall**



www.shropshire.gov.uk General Enquiries: 0845 678 9000

Tony Parsons Lezley Picton Ed Potter John Price Chris Schofield Dan Thomas Robert Tindall Edward Towers Dave Tremellen

Kevin Turley David Vasmer Alex Wagner Claire Wild Brian Williams Rob Wilson Leslie Winwood Paul Wynn

Your Committee Officer is:

Tim WardCommittee OfficerTel:01743 257713Email:tim.ward@shropshire.gov.uk

AGENDA

1 Election of Speaker and Vice-Chairman

To elect a Speaker and Vice Chairman for the ensuing year.

2 Apologies for Absence

To receive apologies for absence

3 Election of Chairman and Deputy Speaker

To elect a Chairman and Deputy Speaker for the ensuing year.

4 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members are reminded that they must not participate in the discussion or voting on any matter in which they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest and should leave the room prior to the commencement of the debate.

5 Minutes (Pages 1 - 20)

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the previous meeting held on 25 February 2021

Contact Emily Marshall 01743 257717

6 Return of Election of Shropshire Councillors (Pages 21 - 24)

Report of the Returning Officer is attached.

Contact Claire Porter Tel 01743 252763

Council is asked to place on record its appreciation of the services of the following Councillors who decided not to seek re-election or were not returned by the electorate.

Peter Adams	Paul Milner
Gwen Burgess	Chris Mellings
Karen Calder	Peter Nutting
Lee Chapman	William Parr
Pauline Dee	Malcolm Pate
Hannah Fraser	Alexander Phillips
Simon Harris	Keith Roberts
Ann Hartley	Madge Shineton
Roger Hughes	David Turner
Ioan Jones	Michael Wood
Matt Lee	Tina Woodward
Jane Mackenzie	

7 Announcements

To receive such communications as the Chairman, Speaker, Leader and Head of Paid Service may desire to lay before the Council.

8 Election of Leader of the Council

To elect a Leader of the Council for the ensuing 4 years.

9 Appointment of Cabinet Members, Deputy Cabinet Members and their Portfolios

Report of the Interim Assistant Director – Legal and Democratic Services **TO FOLLOW**.

Contact Tim Collard Tel 01743 252756

10 Constitution of Committees and the Allocation of Seats to Political Groups

Report of the Interim Assistant Director – Legal and Democratic Services **TO FOLLOW**

Contact Tim Collard Tel 01743 252756

11 Appointments to Outside Bodies, Committees and Other Groups (Pages 25 - 28)

To agree appointments to outside bodies, committees, and other groups.

Report of the Interim Assistant Director – Legal and Democratic Services attached.

Contact Tim Collard Tel 01743 252756

12 Report of the Independent Remuneration Panel (Pages 29 - 38)

Report of the Interim Assistant Director – Legal and Democratic Services attached.

Contact Tim Collard Tel 01743 252756

13 Schemes of Delegation

To resolve that the Responsibility for Functions, set out in Part 3 of the Constitution and the Scheme of Delegations, set out in Part 8 of the Constitutions be agreed.

Please use the links below access Part 3 and 8 of the Constitution

Part 3: http://shropshire.gov.uk/Part3OfTheConstitution

Part 8: http://shropshire.gov.uk/Part8OfTheConstitution

Contact Tim Collard Interim Assistant Director – Legal and Democratic Services Tel 01743 252756

14 Dates of Council Meetings

To agree that in 2021/22, meetings of the Council will be held on the following dates commencing at 10.00am:

- 15 July 2021
- 23 September 2021
- 16 December 2021
- 24 February 2022
- 12 May 2022

Contact: Amanda Holyoak. Tel. 01743 257714

15 Exclusion of Press and Public

To resolve that, in accordance with the provisions of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and Paragraph 10.4 [3] of the Council's Access to Information Rules, the public and press be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following items.

16 Exempt Minutes (Pages 39 - 42)

To approve as a correct record the exempt minutes of the previous meeting held on 25 February 2021

Contact Emily Marshall 01743 257717